e-Tourist Visa Consular Services

e-Tourist Visa

Advisory for visitors to India

Visitors to India should not carry Thuraya/ Irridium satellite phones with them as it is banned in India and the persons bringing it are liable to be proceeded against as per local laws

Indian e-Tourist Visa (eTV) now available to Canadian citizens

1. Announced by Prime Minister Mr. NarendraModi, during his visit to Canada last month, e-Tourist Visa (eTV) has sincebeen made available to Canadian citizens. Details of the scheme are available on the website - https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html  .

2. e-Tourist visa facility can be availed by Canadian citizens and other nationals whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, attending a short term yoga programme, short duration medical treatment including under Indian systems of medicine or casual business visit etc. and no other purpose/activity,

3. Salient highlights of the facility as under:

  1. Canadian citizens (& other eligible individuals) can apply online for eTVtwice a year for visits not exceeding 30 days. The visa duration is non-extendable. Longer term visas may be obtained in the normal course.
  2. The eTV will be granted through email. The applicant should carry a printed copy of the email approval while travelling to India and get the formal visa affixed on his / her passport on arrival at 9 designated international airports (Bangalore, Chennai, Kochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram) in India.
  3. Online application for eTV needs to be filed a minimum of 4 days in advance of the date of arrival with a window of 30 days. Example: If you are applying on 1st January, your date of arrival in India must be between 4th January and 3rd February.
  4. Applicants having queries or requiring assistancein regard to eTV, may call the helpline number (+91-11-24300666) or send an email to  indiatvoa@gov.in .

4. The eTV facility is in addition to the existing Visa services being provided through BLS or the High Commission / Consulate General of India.

5. E-TV fee for Canadian nationals is US $ 48. The fee for other nationals as under:


Argentina, Cook Islands, Fiji, Jamaica, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uruguay & Vanuatu. 
(19 countries)

USD 25

Japan, Singapore & Sri Lanka. (3 countries)

USD 48

Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, 
Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba,
Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Timor-Leste, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, 
Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Holy See (Vatican), Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg,
Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, 
Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, 
Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Spain, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia,
St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turks & Caicos Islands,
United Arab Emirates, Venezuela & Vietnam. (86 countries)

USD 60

Mozambique, Russia, Ukraine, United Kingdom & United States of America. (5 countries)